Thunderbolts & Lightening very very…spooky…

Ali got in touch with 5p this week to share her thoughts on their “seriously bonkers” work! Let’s read her email below…

Dear Class 5P

Well, what can I say? I was concerned about you all last week, and this week I KNOW you’re all seriously bonkers! What IS Paul feeding you? Several million miniature winged goats? (Thanks for that, Zain.)

Your Fill In Fun stories have left me breathless, whimpering and occasionally licking the walls for comfort. A trickle of jam and dread just went down my spine, Henry. I’ve just realised I’m going to have to MEET YOU all in MAY! AAAAAAAAAAARGH!

Have to admit, I’m loving your mad ideas, from chicken onesies to zig-zaggy hair, to soggy iPhones to naked luck.

It’s made me stop and laugh after a busy day launching Thunderstruck – my brand new book. I launched it wearing my special lightning waistcoat:

unnamed-1.jpg

And my special lightning earrings and pendant:

unnamed.jpg

In Thunderstruck, Alisha and Theo get struck by lightning and afterwards they can see ghosts. Happily Dougie and Lizzie, who were killed by lightning in the same place in 1976, are quite fun and groovy as ghosts go.

Imagine you met a ghost and got chatting. How would your ghost speak? This week I’d like you to work in groups to come up with some ghost chat. Imagine you’re having a conversation with a ghost from:

  • 1666 (the year of the great Fire of London)    or
  • 1917  (during World War One)    or
  • 1966  (the swinging sixties)    or
  • Medieval England (the time of the legends of King Arthur)

Ask your ghost about their life… and how they died. Just get chatting – and see if you can make them speak correctly for their time, using the right kind of language.  Write down your conversation. You can describe how your ghost looks, too.

Good luck, 5P…

Ali

Here are some brilliant examples ghostly interviews – we especially like the idea of a TV show called ‘Catching up with the Dead‘ and think Saturday night TV is missing a trick!

Well done 5p – we’re looking forward to your next bonkers instalment!!!

Leave a Reply

