What did you want to be when you grown up?

Phew! It has been all go at AAA HQ, which is why we are adding lots of content to the blog at one time. We are not the only ones though, there has been a flurry of busy-ness too at Stanford Juniors as they have been doing their SATs exams (eek!), but they still had time to send some interesting questions to their author, Ross Montgomery’s way…

Hi Ross,

We have three questions for you this week:

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Do you create books for adults?

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

Ross, being a teacher when he isn’t writing,completely understood and in fact, had lots of good luck vibes to send in Stanford Juniors’ way and a very good life lesson at the end:

Hi Year 6s,

 
I hear you’re busy working on your SATs exams this week – good luck!! In the meantime, here are the answers to the questions you sent me:
 
Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
Being a writer is strange, because you don’t get many opportunities to talk to people who read your books – most of the time you’re by yourself writing them! That’s why hearing from readers is such a treat – I’ve had a few letters sent to me via my publisher, and a few emails through my website, and once I even got a Christmas card!! 
Most of the time they’re just taking the time to say that they liked my books, which is wonderful to hear – although once I got an email from an angry mum who didn’t like my books AT ALL and wanted to make sure I knew about it!

If I could give you guys a tip, it would be to write to your favourite authors – look in the front of their books for their publisher’s address and just send it through them! It does get to them eventually, and there’s a good chance they’ll write back. When I was 10 I even had a correspondence with Terry Deary – of Horrible Histories fame!

Do you create books for adults?

People often ask me if I could write a book for adults, and I’m not sure I could. One of the things I like about writing for children is that there are restrictions in what you can and can’t do – you can’t get TOO scary or TOO rude, though you can certainly try to push it! I like those kind of boundaries – they really help me focus an idea so it doesn’t end up becoming overly ambitious.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?
Funnily enough, I wanted to be a writer! I just loved the idea of creating stories to entertain and, if possible, transport people. I changed my mind a few times – I wanted to be a cartoonist at first (my mum told me I wasn’t allowed as it didn’t make any money!) and when I was a teenager I wanted to make films, but I always came back to the idea of writing.
If any of you have a passion that you’d love to spend your life following, then start now – whether it’s writing or building or playing netball, you’ll build up a love and understanding of it that will carry you through the rest of your life.
 
Speak soon!
 
Ross
Year 6 will be meeting Ross on Tuesday! This is what he looks like if you don’t know…
RM
How exciting for them!
Leave a Reply

