Woodingdean, Stanford Juniors, Patcham Juniors and Carden Primary say a ginormous ‘GOOD DAY’ to you!

Its the first week of the project and each class have received their first emails from their authors!

Woodingdean have said ‘ALOHA! to their author Gary Northfield…

Hello!

I’ve been zipping around the country the last few weeks, telling everybody about Julius Zebra, reading from the book and showing them how I draw Julius. The jokes were brilliant lots of school children from all over the country told their favourite jokes.

Here’s one of the winners:

Knock knock!
Who’s There?
Interrupting cow!
Interrupting co…
MOOOOO!!!!!!!

ANYWAY! Who wants to learn how to draw JULIUS ZEBRA? Good!
When I draw my cartoon characters, I find it much easier to draw them by breaking up the character up into easy, manageable shapes. This way, it doesn’t seem very hard to draw at all. I’ve attached a worksheet which shows you how to draw Julius ready to fight as a gladiator!

aaaaaaand here are class 4PA drawing away and look at the results! Gary might have a team of illustrators on his hands..

 
drawing julius

IMG_5456  IMG_5446 IMG_5443 IMG_5463

you all in 4PA should be proud of yourselves, Julius has never looked finer!

 

Author Sarah Lean has cried a humongous ‘HIYA!’ to her class at Patcham Juniors…

A CONVERSATION WITH A DOG

When Harry was a puppy, I trained him to sit quietly in a basket on my bike. He also used to jump up on my seat where I had been writing when I went to make a cup of tea. I often pretended that he was talking to me and had something to say.
Dog

What do you imagine Harry might be saying in these photographs?

Ross Montgomery,  a tremendous WAVE to his class at Stanford Juniors from little old London…

Hi everyone!

I’m very excited to be sending you the first of my weekly emails. Mr Persaud tells me that you’re going to be working hard to send me some excellent pieces of writing and insightful questions! In return, I’ll do my best to come up with some fun activities to help you with your own writing, and on the way I’ll try not to mispeeell any wodrs.
 
By now, I’m sure you’ll have read some of my new book PERIJEE & ME. It was only published last Thursday, so you lucky lot have had a head-start on the rest of the country! 
 
In order to help the reader visualise Perijee, I used two SIMILES to describe him – can you find them? Why do you think I compared Perijee to these things – what do you think is the point of using similes? 
 
REMEMBER: if your alien is scary, then you should compare it to things that are scary!
 
GOOD EXAMPLE: The alien’s eyes were as red as erupting volcanoes.
BAD EXAMPLE: The alien’s eyes were as red as nice juicy tomatoes.

 

Marcia Williams has shouted a gigantic ‘GREETINGS’! to Carden Primary and have a few questions for Marcia to answer on her return from Dubai (sneak peak below)…

Georgie

Who is your favourite female author and why?

Scarlett

If you could go back in time and meet 5 famous historical characters who would you pick and why?

Maddie

When you go to libraries or book shops are you ever tempted to move your books so everyone can

see them?

Hoorain

Are you a Harry Potter fan?

Emma

Did you like history at school? If not, what inspired you to write/illustrate historical books?

Seleyna

Who is your favourite woman through history and why?

Nahima

What encouraged you to become an author/illustrator and why?

Amy

Who is your least favourite historical character and why?

Eva

If you were stranded on a desert island and only had two historical people for company who would

you choose and why?

 

Summer J

Do you still keep a diary? If so, what do you write about?

Leave a Reply

